Metacognition and exam practice

We know that metacognition has a huge impact on student learning. Getting students to think about how they pull apart an exam paper is something we are all reminding them of at the moment. This blog post is essential reading if you currently teach any classes with an exam this summer. When reading the article, scroll down to see how the music teacher has annotated the script (if you do one new thing this week then try this) – the videos really help contextualise the explanation in the article.

It is so obviously a useful thing to do for students, I cannot believe it hasn’t occurred to me before. I’ve been inspired to do this for my Year 11 GCSE History group. Results can be seen below:

I will be using this with my Year 11s tomorrow. I’m going to use an iPad as a visualiser and will model though my thinking on a second example.

Leave a Reply

